electronic music & club events guide
search | newsletter | add event | twitter | facebook | podcast
home»news box »Fünf
Ostgut Ton releases this unique compilation of music crafted from field recordings made inside the two Berlin clubs Berghain and Panorama Bar. The concept and original recordings were made by the Berlin based producer Emika. Over a period of two months Emika created the recordings in the clubs while they were closed to the public and edited them into a library of sounds. The library was then given to all the Ostgut Ton artists, but also to club associates like DJ Pete a.k.a. Substance, Dinky, Cassy, Margaret Dygas, Ryan Elliott and Scuba using his SCB alias, to make music with. This release marks the celebration of the label's 5 year anniversary.

Emika's idea started from feeling the whole building resonating from the music being played, which lead to the question: which sounds exist here when there is no party? Intrigued by stories of how the club spaces and sound systems influence the resident DJ sets and productions, Emika was curious to explore what music could be made from the building itself. Berghain’s sound technicians Krischan Makswitat and Silvio König, helped to record the entire light rig including the strobe lights, which in itself sounds techno. Other interesting sources to record were the large cooling rooms used for storing thousands of drinks in bottles. The ventilation systems in these rooms make incredible sub frequencies mixed with the sound of the bottles vibrating against each other. The club also contains large swings made from metal which creak and moan at the slightest of movements.

In total the library comprised over four gigabytes of sounds, and the artists were not given restrictions on how to make music from the library. The tracks on this compilation consist of each artists signature production aesthetics and feature debut solo productions by our residents Fiedel (one half of seminal Berlin based outfit MMM), Boris & Prosumer’s long term production partner Tama Sumo. All together this release highlights the special and inseparable relationships between the label, club space, and collective of artists.


CD 1

01. Emika - Cooling Room
02. Marcel Fengler - Shiraz
03. Prosumer - Daybreak
04. Substance - Gestalts
05. Ryan Elliot - Abatis
06. Nick Höppner - ISP
07. Marcel Dettmann - Shelter
08. Fiedel - Doors To Manual
09. Shed - Boom Room
10. Steffi - My Room
11. Dinky - Twelevetofour
12. Len Faki - Kraft Und Licht


01. Barker & Baumecker - Drin
02. Marcel Dettmann - Scourer
03. SCB - Down Moment
04. Tama Sumo - Iron Glance
05. Murat Tepeli feat. Elif Biçer - Holdon
06. Soundstream - Wenn Meine Mutti Wüsste
07. Cassy - Never Give Up On A Moodswing (CD Edit)
08. Ben Klock - Bear
09. Norman Nodge - Start Up
10. Luke Slater - Boom Tang Shwuck
11. Boris - Rem
12. Margaret Dygas - Quintet

Fünf will be released on October 25th, 2010 on Ostgut Gun.
No comments yet


The comments should be in ENGLISH LANGUAGE ONLY and should NOT be off-topic or contain abusive language or spam.
27.09.2010  (CE)